Friday, January 7, 2011

Review : Not That Kind of Girl


Title: Not That Kind of Girl
Author: Siobhan Vivian
Published: September 1st 2010 by Push
Copy: Arc

Summary: Natalie Sterling wants to be in control. She wants her friends to be loyal. She wants her classmates to elect her student council president. She wants to find the right guy, not the usual jerk her school has to offer. She wants a good reputation, because she believes that will lead to good things.

But life is messy, and it's very hard to be in control of it. Not when there are freshman girls running around in a pack, trying to get senior guys to sleep with them. Not when your friends have secrets they're no longer comfortable sharing. Not when the boy you once dismissed ends up being the boy you wants to sleep with yourself - but only in secret, with nobody ever finding out.

Slut or saint? Winner or loser? Natalie is getting tired of these forced choices - and is now going to find a way to live life in the sometimes messy, sometimes wonderful in-between.


Thoughts: If you've ever been the sarcastic, smart girl who knows boyfriends aren't everything, this is the book for you.

Natalie Sterling is your typical-but-not-so-typical girl who doesn't care what other girls think. She knows who she is, what she wants, what's right and what's wrong. At least she thought she did. After a messy election for student council president, she seems to be spending more and more time with Connor Hughes. You see folks, Connor is the quarterback of the football, and boys are not exactly high on Natalie's list of priorities. She knows what happened to her best friend freshman year and refuses to let the same thing happen to her. Boys suck, lets throw rocks at them! (kidding!)

The more time Natalie spends with Connor, the more she starts to fall for him. Her grades begin to slip, and she starts questioning her values. What's more important, your reputation or the chance to fall in love?

One thing I love about Not That Kind of Girl is the fact that it focuses on a subject most teen girls (if not every) can relate to. With a strong minded character like Natalie, you get to witness how difficult high school can be. Boys can be cruel, and Natalie knows this first hand. She's always aware of this, and while it's a good thing, it also makes her a bit of a pessimist. She has a difficult time just enjoying the moment. Though I adored her strong sense of right and wrong, I didn't like how she judged everyone. She thought she knew better than them and tries to take control of every situation. Sometimes people don't appreciate that, and sometimes it's best to let them figure it out on their own.

Thus, enter Spencer. Spencer is a freshman girl who Natalie used to babysit. Somewhere along the way, Spencer became Natalie's litte padawan. Well, that's what Natalie thinks. Sadly, Spencer isn't the type to let others tell her what to do. In fact, instead of being reserved and avoiding boys all together, Spencer uses her sexuality to her advantage. She literally "works it" in order to get her way. It was actually a lot of fun to read about Spencer's antics. They're pretty funny and very entertaining.

I like how the book offers the readers two incredibly different girls with different morals, and yet, they both still have good intentions. This also makes it easier for girls to either relate to one, the other or both. Both Natalie and Spencer know that boys aren't everything. They'll both stand up for the other without a care to what everyone else thinks. You gotta love that.

Then, there's Connor. He's a bit stereotypical for my taste, but still such a sweetheart. I adored the way he treated Natalie. He would do anything for her, even though he knows she's going off to college eventually, while he's staying behind. I just wished Natalie saw him the same way everyone else did.

As you can see, the book does focus a lot on girl power and pride, but also gives you a handful of romance. For fans of Jennifer Echols and Courtney Summers, I highly recommend this book. Due to it's sexual content and references, I do recommend readers to be at least 16 years old.

I'm looking forward to what Siobhan Vivian has to offer us next.


Rating:



post signature

3 comments:

  1. Sounds like a great book and I love the cover!

    ReplyDelete
  2. I'm really looking forward to reading this. Great review!

    ReplyDelete
  3. I read this book a few days ago and I agree with your review 100%. You can check my review out here:
    http://thebucketlist-gina.blogspot.com/2011/01/not-that-kind-of-girl-by-siobhan-vivian.html

    Happy reading!

    ReplyDelete

I love, love, love comments, and therefore, love you! Thanks for dropping by!