Friday, March 25, 2011

Review: Prom & Prejudice


Title: Prom &Prejudice
Author: Elizabeth Eulberg
Published: January 1st 2011 by Point

Summary: "After winter break, the girls at the very prestigious Longbourn Academy become obsessed with the prom. Lizzie Bennet, who attends Longbourn on a scholarship, isn’t interested in designer dresses and expensive shoes, but her best friend, Jane, might be — especially now that Charles Bingley is back from a semester in London.

Lizzie is happy about her friend’s burgeoning romance but less than impressed by Charles’s friend, Will Darcy, who’s snobby and pretentious. Darcy doesn’t seem to like Lizzie either, but she assumes it’s because her family doesn’t have money. Clearly, Will Darcy is a pompous jerk — so why does Lizzie find herself drawn to him anyway?

Will Lizzie’s pride and Will’s prejudice keep them apart? Or are they a prom couple in the making? Whatever the result, Elizabeth Eulberg, author of The Lonely Hearts Club, has concocted a very funny, completely stylish delight for any season — prom or otherwise. "

Thoughts: For fans of Pride and Prejudice and even fans of Bridget Jones's Diary, you must check out Prom & Prejudice. It's quirky, captivating and just an overall delightful read.

Since the author keeps the names of the characters exactly the same (with a few nickname twists) to those in Pride and Prejudice, it makes the book a little predictable. She even uses the settings of P&P, but spins it into something different. And though the storyline runs the same course as P&P, that doesn't mean it takes away from the story itself. Lizzie Bennett is the scholarship student at this fancy Longbourn Academy. The kids there are anything but nice, torturing the scholarship students till they drop out. Luckily, Lizzie's roommate, Jane, isn't like the other girls. They instantly become best friends, when Jane's long time crush returns from Europe, Jane drags Lizzie to a party. While there, Lizzie meets Will. From the start, they bump heads and just like in Pride and Prejudice, will Lizzie's pride and Will's prejudice get in the way of them falling in love?

My favorite character in the story, of course, is Will Darcy. Who doesn't love the brooding guy with a good heart? If you loved Mr. Darcy from P&P, you'll absolutely adore this younger, more modern version of Darcy. I love how the author unveils just a little bit about Will at a time. Needless to say, it made me want to finish the story in one sitting, just to know what happened to Will, and why he is the way he is.

My only grievance is the romance. I don't mean the lack of chemistry between the characters, but the actual romance behind the story. Something, and you'll know what once you read it, was missing. No, not booty. Ick! I mean something else. I won't go into details because I feel as though that might become borderline spoilery. To understand what I'm talking about, you're going to have to read it.

Overall, I found the story very enjoyable and entertaining. It's funny how you'll know how a story will play out, but still race to figure out what will happen next. And since I really liked Elizabeth's first novel, The Lonely Hearts Club, I'm definitely putting her on my auto-buy list.

Rating:

2 comments:

  1. ROFL!!! your reviews always make me laugh.. I've never read Pride and Prejudice but I've had my eye on this one for a while now. I loved Eulberg's debut novel so this one is definitely on my list. Great review Lena! =D

    ReplyDelete
  2. I loved The Lonely Hearts Club but not Prom and Prejudice. Meh!

    ReplyDelete

I love, love, love comments, and therefore, love you! Thanks for dropping by!