Monday, August 8, 2011

Review: Epic Fail



Title: Epic Fail
Author: Claire LaZebnik
Published: August 2nd 2011 by HarperCollins Publishers
Source: ARC from publisher for review

Summary: "Will Elise’s love life be an epic win or an epic fail?

At Coral Tree Prep in Los Angeles, who your parents are can make or break you. Case in point:

As the son of Hollywood royalty, Derek Edwards is pretty much prince of the school—not that he deigns to acknowledge many of his loyal subjects.

As the daughter of the new principal, Elise Benton isn’t exactly on everyone’s must-sit-next-to-at-lunch list.

When Elise’s beautiful sister catches the eye of the prince’s best friend, Elise gets to spend a lot of time with Derek, making her the envy of every girl on campus. Except she refuses to fall for any of his rare smiles and instead warms up to his enemy, the surprisingly charming social outcast Webster Grant. But in this hilarious tale of fitting in and flirting, not all snubs are undeserved, not all celebrity brats are bratty, and pride and prejudice can get in the way of true love for only so long."


Thoughts:Epic Fail is seriously too cute for words. This book is so addicting, I found myself up till the wee hours just so I could finish it. Was it worth it? You bet!

Epic Fail is a modern retelling of the classic novel Pride & Prejudice. Instead of a gush Victorian setting, you get a private school designed for the rich and famous. And instead of Mr. Darcy, you get snarky, brooding but amazing Derek.

If you remember earlier this year, Elizabeth Eulberg released a very similar book called Prom & Prejudice. Take out the prom concept, and you have Epic Fail, only better. Not only is it absolutely hilarious, the story just flows perfectly. I loved Elise as the main character. Her wit and loyalty for her outrageous family was pretty much everything I love about any main character. Place her next to Derek, and you have a combination made of win.

Now, the story isn't ALL fluff. You still have the same basic problems Elizabeth Bennett had to deal with in P&P. Examples? Oh, well, mis contriued conversations, poor judgement in characters and deceptive siblings all play a role in this must read summer book.

From lovable characters to teenage love and drama, it's no surprise I fell in love with this book. If you're looking for a light read that will make your icey heart go pitter patter, I recommend checking out Epic Fail. Fans of Pride & Prejudice, Prom & Prejudice and even the movie Easy A will devour this book in one sitting. Really, it's that good!

Rating:







11 comments:

  1. This review has officially made me want to read this book as soon as possible, if not sooner! I always love retellings of Pride & Prejudice as well as wit in my stories, so this just sounds like the perfect book for me.

    ReplyDelete
  2. This sounds like the perfect summer read. I also love the tie in to Pride and Prejudice.

    ReplyDelete
  3. This sounds like such a fun read! I'm hoping to get a copy soon- I love retellings!

    ReplyDelete
  4. EEE this book sounds soo cute!!! Can't wait to dive into my copy now! =D

    ReplyDelete
  5. Yay! Glad you liked it so much! Sounds like an epic book WIN :)
    I'm so bumping this up on my wishlist and THEN my to-read list!

    ReplyDelete
  6. Aah, I want to read this book so bad! Usually, I shy away from P&P modern retellings (mostly the adult ones), but YA cuteness? Can't resist!

    ReplyDelete
  7. I have seen a lot of this book, but did not realize it was related to P&P! Thanks for the great review, I'll have to give this a read!

    ReplyDelete
  8. Some people said they didn't like this book, but I am going to read it!

    ReplyDelete
  9. I never heard of this book until now....but your review totally has me dying to read it! I'm a huge Austen fan and this one sounds like it would be a cute adaptation! Nice review :)

    ReplyDelete
  10. Nice Easy A mention. It's one of my favorite movies and any book similar has me interested :]

    ReplyDelete
  11. Oh! I just got this! Need to read! I had no idea it was in any way related to P&P, so now I'm extra, extra, extra excited! (And yay, Easy A!)

    ReplyDelete

I love, love, love comments, and therefore, love you! Thanks for dropping by!