Monday, December 19, 2011

Review: Kiss Crush Collide

Title: Kiss Crush Collide
Author: Christina Meredith
Expected publication: December 27th 2011 by Greenwillow Books
Source: ARC courtesy of the publisher for review

Summary: "Leah has the life most high school girls would kill for—popularity, glowing grades, a rich, athletic boyfriend. So why does she feel like she can’t breathe? And why can’t she stop thinking about the boy from the country club? The one who isn’t her boyfriend, the one that her mother would never, ever approve of, the one that her perfect older sisters would never, ever look at twice. The one who is always looking back at her. Irresistible attraction, smoldering glances, the bad boy and the good girl—Kiss Crush Collide has everything that a steamy forbidden romance should, and then some.

With graceful and honest writing and an electric love story, this is a book about growing into your own skin. For fans of Perfect Chemistry, Sarah Dessen, and John Green."

First line: "'Leah!' My mother rolls her eyes, sounding completely exasperated as she steps down the three thick stone slabs at our front door, her heels clacking."

Thoughts: Y'all know there is nothing I love more than a fabulous YA novel, with enough romance to make my heart burst. I thought Kiss Crush Collide would be that novel, but sadly, it just fell short. Really short. We're talking I-struggled-to-finish-it short.

Where to begin.

I really did not enjoy the overall flow to the story. The narration of the story jumped everywhere. One minute, she was talking about herself, the next her family, then her boyfriend, back to her sisters, back to herself, etc, all within just a few short pages. It was like listening to a 4 year old on a candy high try and tell you a story. Needless to say, it made the book quite strenuous to follow and the characters difficult to connect with.

The dialogue...well, what dialogue? Every so often, Leah or one of her sisters or mother would say one line then stop. End of conversation until the next page. I don't think anyone really had any real conversations that lasted more than a minute. Aren't high school girls suppose to be chatty? Aren't people in general suppose to be chatty? I guess not in the world of Kiss Crush Collide.

The romance was unbearable. It wasn't romance. It was pure teenage lust. After barely speaking with Porter (someone who is not Leah's boyfriend), she finds herself making out with him and "doing things she only did with her boyfriend after waiting 11 or so months". Really? Porter's practically a stranger to her, and she runs off with him to do naughty things? And please, do not even get me started on how many times her breast (which are bigger than her sisters') started falling out of her top. That is not something teenagers nor anyone outside a Harlequin romance novel should discuss.

And finally, Leah. I cannot put into words how much I disliked the main character. I felt like she was far too snobby and conceited. She constantly spoke of things such as her family's wealth (her dad buys them each a car for their 16th birthday, but she doesn't drive it), how smart she and her sisters are, and how no one gives her a chance even though, when someone tries to speak with her, she comes off agitated, rude and snippy. I would love to say she grows through out the story, but that would be a lie. She pretty much stays the same irritating character.

I'm sorry guys, but I can't hide my disappointment when it comes to Kiss Crush Collide. The cover is so gorgeous and with the way the summary is described (how it's comparing the book to such things as Perfect Chemistry and John Green), I really thought I would fall in love with it. Sadly, that's not the case at all. From the beginning to the end, I struggled with it. I kept hoping it would get better, but it didn't. I even found myself speed reading through the majority of the book, just to finish, and I hardly ever do that. Personally, I wouldn't recommend this book. If you're looking for a fabulous contemporary novel, look for titles by John Green, Sarah Dessen, Simon Elkeles, Gayle Forman or Jennifer Echols.

Rating:

12 comments:

  1. Yikes. I was looking forward to this one but I will definitely have to pass on it based on your review. =( I hate it when books aren't what we hoped they'd be.

    ReplyDelete
  2. Wow that sounds like an awful read. I added it cause it mentioned Perfect Chemistry and John Green too and it caught my attention because of the cover but now I will just admire the cover and skip the book.

    Sandy

    ReplyDelete
  3. Tell me how you really feel about this book. LOL okay won't be reading it ever :)

    ReplyDelete
  4. I've heard so many bad things about this book. :/

    ReplyDelete
  5. Totally off topic: I love the Epic Reads badge on top of your page. Four <3

    And I've been seeing a lot of not-so-good reviews for this one. Guess I'm going to have to pass on it!

    ReplyDelete
  6. I'm soooo glad you warned me about this one cause I know if you didn't like it then I wouldn't either because we have such similar tastes. Thanks for the very honest review Lena!

    ReplyDelete
  7. I have yet to see a good review about this book, I doubt I will bother to read it now which sucks because I really wanted to read it, it was one of my most anticipated books //:

    Racquel @ The Book Barbies
    -thank you&come again.

    ReplyDelete
  8. Yikes :l For the cover I thought it'd be an awesome story. Thanks, Lena, for saving me from this!

    Totally love your blog!♥

    pd. I was shocked when I saw how you rated this one! Since I follow you, it's the first time I see you rate a book this low!

    ReplyDelete
  9. Oh well, guess they can't all be winners, that was a fun review to read though, thanks!

    ReplyDelete
  10. Ditto.
    There are so many things wrong with this book. The misleading summary & cover being just one of them.

    ReplyDelete
  11. I'm right there with you on this book - I really wanted to love it and was expecting a lot but I just couldn't LOVE it. I liked it but not Loved :(

    ReplyDelete
  12. Thanks for the heads up because I have been wanting to run out and buy this book because I loved the blurb and the cover but after reading a few reviews I think I am def going to pass.

    ReplyDelete

I love, love, love comments and therefore, love you! Thanks for dropping by!