Monday, September 15, 2014

Some Boys Blog Blitz + Giveaway



YA author, Patty Blount, is back with another novel that addresses one of today’s most pressing issues facing today's youth. SOME BOYS is a gutwrenching and edgy love story told from alternating points of view that's perfect for fans of Simone Elkeles and Katie McGarry.

"SOME BOYS belongs in every YA collection." - School Library Journal

"5 stars. Very well-deserved! This book did quite a number on me - unlike most books (contemporary or not), this one made me FEEL, and feel really strongly." - The Eater of Books

Want to get to know Patty better? Check out this exclusive interview!

Oh, crap, I’m late. I’m freaking late. I jog up the stairs and turn west and skid to a halt.

No. No, no, no!

Please let this be a mistake.

Mr. Jordan said he’d assigned locker cleanup to somebody besides me.

Oh, my God, I’m cursed.

They both turn when they hear me. I look for it—the expression on their faces that matches the expression on every other face when I walk by. The expression that says, Here comes the lying whore!
“You Grace?” the janitor asks, and I nod. “You’re late. I’ll have to report that to Mr. Jordan.”
Knock yourself out, pal. Principals don’t scare me.

Students do.

I pay only the slightest attention to the instructions the janitor provides. I’m watching Ian Russell out of the corner of my eye. Tall and lean. Great mouth, dark hair, and dark eyes that have their own gravitational pull, Ian’s easy on the eyes, but that’s not all. There’s some­thing about him, something that’s always been there every time I’ve looked at him.
I’ve looked at him a lot.

He’s got this restlessness, this energy that practically sizzles, and I don’t understand it, even though I always wanted to.
He’s on the lacrosse team. Why isn’t he on the field with the rest of the team? What did he do to get stuck with this job?
But none of those are the real questions I’m asking. I don’t want to think about the real questions. But how can I not? How much did Ian see? How much does Ian believe? Why did he help me that night?
The janitor gives me the master key and instructions on what to put where and then points to the lockers across from Ian.

Hell no.

He’s deluded if he thinks I’ll turn my back on any friend of Zac McMahon’s.

The janitor leaves, and I grab a pair of rubber gloves, anxious to get started. I keep Ian in my visual field, ready to defend myself if he so much as raises a hand to me, but all that dark hair hides his face. I spray a locker and can’t reach the top. And suddenly Ian’s right there, and my arms are too busy holding me up to fight.

“Here, I got it.”

Shit. I jump so hard I hit my elbow. He mumbles some apology, but I can’t hear him over the rush of panic. He backs off and returns to his own locker, and for a long moment I think about climbing inside one of the lockers—who cares if it’s clean—and just hiding inside until the shift is over. Six days. How the hell am I going to get through six days of this? I take some more deep breaths and scrub the hell out of the next locker.


Enter to WIN a $10 gift card for Amazon or Barnes & Noble + all 3 of Patty's books & SWAG including a SEND wristband, a TMI magnet and a Some Boys safety whistle!


a Rafflecopter giveaway




About SOME BOYS:

Some Boys go too far. Some Boys will break your heart. But One Boy can make you whole.

Seventeen-year-old lacrosse player Ian Russell—sidelined by a concussion—is sentenced to spend spring break scrubbing out lockers. It’s bad enough when Ian discovers his partner for the week is Grace Collier, the girl who claims his best friend raped her at a party in the woods a few weeks ago. But what sucks most of all is that he used to have a thing for Grace… before Zac MacMahon got to her first.
Grace wants to crawl into one of the lockers and die. Ian was the only reason Grace even bothered to go that stupid party, but he never showed up. Not until… after. Suddenly, someone was shaking her awake. The last thing she remembers is the expression on Zac’s face. But Zac told the entire school the sex was consensual and posted a video on Facebook to prove it. Her best friends have abandoned her and even her parents aren’t too sure.
But Ian and Grace surprise each other. He never disrespects her, and she even helps him when a dizzy spell hits. Ian still likes Grace with her bad-ass style. Unlike the rest of the school, who has rejected Grace, calling her a slut and a liar, Ian is funny and kind with secrets of his own. But how do you trust the best friend of the boy who raped you? How do you challenge your best friend and call him a liar? How do you believe in love?





About Patty Blount:

In addition to writing novels for teens, Patty Blount writes technical information for a computer company. Her first novel, Send, was inspired after a manager suggested she learn more about social networks. A short version of that same novel finished in the top ten of the Writer's Digest 79th Annual Writing Competition. She is also the author of the young adult book, TMI. She lives on Long Island with her family. Visit her at pattyblount.com.

Website | Facebook | Twitter | Goodreads | Pinterest

6 comments:

  1. Well I tried to sign up for Patty's newsletter but after 3 tries I still couldn't get there. Please sign me up when you get the time. Thanks carlscott(at)prodigy(dot)net(dot)mx

    ReplyDelete
  2. Nice blog i really like it..
    http://hassunshabeer.blogspot.com/
    http://mhtutorials.blogspot.com/

    ReplyDelete
  3. Just to let you know that there was a problem with my facebook username, and then I had to change it - so, now it's https://www.facebook.com/ana.kitsuneninko - Probably the one mentioned in the rafflecopter is the wrong one, could you correct it for me, please? Thanks, Ana Death Duarte

    ReplyDelete
  4. Thanks for the information, maybe I'll go back again to your website to read the latest news other, because the news contained in this website is very informative once

    Obat Angin Duduk ( Angina ) Herbal
    Obat Kanker Lidah Herbal
    Obat Perikarditis
    Obat Aterosklerosis
    Cara Supaya Jantung Tetap Sehat

    ReplyDelete
  5. Well I tried to sign up for Patty's newsletter but after 3 tries I still couldn't get there. Please sign me up when you get the time. obat wasir

    ReplyDelete

I love, love, love comments, and therefore, love you! Thanks for dropping by!